Junior Mayor

Each year a primary school student is elected the Junior Mayor of Kingston.

This long-running initiative has been running for more than 60 years in partnership with the Chelsea Rotary Club.

Primary school students learn about local government and the democratic process whilst gaining leadership and presentation skills.

One student from each school is nominated to speak on a topic in front of their peers and teachers. The students then elect an 11-member Junior Council and a Junior Mayor in an annual Youth Week event.

The Junior Mayor receives junior mayoral robes, chains and money from the Chelsea Rotary Club and is also called on to assist the Mayor at a range of official Council events. 

St Joseph’s Primary School’s Alexandra Shewan has been elected as Kingston Council’s Junior Mayor for 2023 to 2024.

The full Junior Council for 2023 to 2024 is:

  • Keira Jessop from Patterson Lakes Primary School for Banksia Ward
  • Pranav Premnath from Clayton South Primary School for Bunjil Ward
  • Suumon Naing from Dingley Primary School for Caruana Ward
  • Vanessa Comarmond from Parktone Primary School for Chicquita Ward
  • Benjamin Trouw from St Patrick’s Primary School for Como Ward
  • Gabriel Kovalev from Southmoor Primary School for Karkarook Ward
  • Alexandra Shewan from St Joseph’s Primary School for Longbeach Ward
  • Grace Conway from Parkdale Primary School for Melaleuca Ward
  • Madeleine Stacey from Edithvale Primary School for Sandpiper Ward
  • Kiara Morris from Our Lady of the Assumption for Wattle Ward
  • Ella Ryan from Aspendale Primary School for Yammerbook Ward
  • Sreyan Prottoy from Westall Primary School, Councillors Choice Award

Kingston's previous Junior Mayors:

Year         Name

2022/23    Eli Murphy

2021/22    Amelia Holko

2020/21    Jack O'Connor