Junior Mayor

Each year a primary school student is elected the Junior Mayor of Kingston.

This long running initiative has been running for more than sixty years in partnership with the Chelsea Rotary Club.

Primary school students learn about local government and the democratic process whilst gaining leadership and presentation skills.

One student from each school is nominated to speak on a topic in front of their peers and teachers. The students then elect an 11-member Junior Council and a Junior Mayor in an annual Youth Week event.

The Junior Mayor receives junior mayoral robes, chains, money from the Chelsea Rotary Club, and are also called on to assist the Mayor at a range of official Council events. 

Carrum Primary School’s Eli Murphy has been elected as Kingston Council’s Junior Mayor for 2022-23.

The full Junior Council for 2022-23 is:

  • Eli Murphy from Carrum Primary School for Banksia Ward
  • Rannveer Singh Kahlon from Westall Primary School for Bunjil Ward
  • Paige Donsen from Kingswood Primary School for Caruana Ward
  • Judah James from Heatherton Christian College for Chicquita Ward
  • Scarlett Presnell from St Patrick’s Primary School for Como Ward
  • Ruslana Teregulova from Moorabbin Primary School for Karkarook Ward
  • Elodie Trutsch from Chelsea Primary School for Longbeach Ward
  • Ruby McWilliams from Parkdale Primary School for Melaleuca Ward
  • Chloe Ward from St Joseph’s Primary School for Sandpiper Ward
  • Neve Hoult from Our Lady of the Assumption for Wattle Ward
  • Aadi Chordiya from Aspendale Gardens Primary School for Yammerbook Ward

Kingston's previous Junior Mayors:

Year         Name

2021/22    Amelia Holko

2020/21    Jack O'Connor