NAIDOC Week 2024

Next date: Thursday, 18 July 2024 | 04:00 PM to Saturday, 03 August 2024 | 11:59 PM

Smoking ceremony

NAIDOC Week is an opportunity for all Australians to learn about First Nations cultures and histories and participate in celebrations of the oldest, continuous living cultures on earth.

To celebrate and recognise the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, we’re holding a number of free events.

Check them out!

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are advised that the following content contains information about a recently passed Elder.

City Hall Bridge Projections

Digital artwork projections by Wamba Wamba, Wergaia artist, Nathaniel Stewart will light up the bridge every night of NAIDOC week and beyond.

Collection of the Land / Time and Tempo

Date: Wednesday 3 July – Saturday 3 August 2024 
Time: Nightly 
Place: The Bridge, Kingston City Hall, Moorabbin 

 Free | All ages

NAIDOC Week Flag Raising Morning Tea

To mark the opening of the deadliest week of the year, Derrimut Weelam Gathering Place invite all of community to attend a Flag Raising ceremony, followed by morning tea.

Date: Monday 8 July 
Time: 10.30am – 12.00pm 
Place: Derrimut Weelam Gathering Place,199 Bay Trail Rd Mordialloc Vic 3195

Free | Bookings essential. RSVP to kalie.kent@kingston.vic.gov.au

Native Bush Dyeing

In this hands-on workshop, you’ll learn about the Indigenous practice of bush dyeing using native plants. 

Date: Thursday 11 July
Times: 6:15pm - 07:15pm and 7:45pm - 08:45pm
Place: Kingston Arts Centre, 979-985 Nepean Hwy, Moorabbin 

Free | Book via Kingston Arts.

NAIDOC Arts Exhibitions and Opening Events

Kingston Arts Centre
G1+G2 Galleries 
979-985 Nepean Hwy, Moorabbin

Exhibition Opening Event: Saturday 6 July, 1:30pm
Exhibition Dates: Wednesday 3 July – Saturday 3 August 2024 
Gallery Opening Hours: 11am – 4pm Wednesday to Saturday

No bookings required.

Uncle Greg Muir 

Through landscapes and portrait paintings, Yorta Yorta artist Uncle Greg Muir takes viewers on a journey of his story and lived experiences as an Aboriginal man with a disability.

Learn more about Uncle Greg Muir NAIDOC Exhibition.

Blak Design: Fired Up, Stories through Embers and Earth 

This group exhibition explores the possibilities of clay as a design medium, and brings works created by the Blak Design Program participants together, grounded in Community, Country and Place and reflecting on personal histories and individual storytelling. 

NAIDOC Family Day

Derrimut Weelam Gathering Place invites you to attend their annual Family Day. You'll enjoy a range of activities for the kids and a BBQ lunch.  

Date: Wednesday 10 July
Time: 10.30am - 1.30pm
Place: Derrimut Weelam Gathering Place, 199 Bay Trail, Mordialloc 

Free | No bookings required.

NAIDOC Dinner

Derrimut Weelam Gathering Place will be hosting their annual NAIDOC Dinner to acknowledge NAIDOC Week. Let’s keep the fire burning! Blak, Loud and Proud! Guests will enjoy a traditional ceremony, special guest dancers and a delicious 3 course meal. 

Date: Friday 28 June 
Time: 6pm 
Place: Southern Golf Club, Keysborough  

Bookings essential. RSVP to kalie.kent@kingston.vic.gov.au by Friday 21 June.

First Nations Storytimes and book displays

All library branches will host First Nations Storytimes during NAIDOC week.

Find out more about times and locations.

Reconciliation: Forging forward in Victoria with Uncle Charles Pakana

Meet Uncle Charles Pakana, founder and editor-in-chief of Victorian Aboriginal News (VAN), to discuss the differences between substantive and performative reconciliation, and how community can educate itself on key matters relating to the Victorian Treaty process, truth-telling and local voices. 

Date: Saturday 29 June 
Time: 11am to 1pm 
Place: Cheltenham Library, 12 Stanley Avenue, Cheltenham 

Visit Kingston Libraries for bookings.

Author Talk with Claire Coleman

From the critically acclaimed author of ‘Terra Nullius’ comes a novel in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Naomi Alderman. ‘Enclave’ explores a future of surveillance, disruption and segregation that echoes the horrors of a colonial past. 

Meet Claire G. Coleman, Noongar woman, whose family belongs to the south coast of Western Australia. She writes fiction, essays, poetry and art criticism while either living in Naarm (Melbourne) or on the road. 

Date: Wednesday 24 July 
Time: 6:30pm 
Place: Cheltenham Library 

Bookings required. To book visit Kingston Libraries.

NAIDOC Storytimes

Join us for special NAIDOC themed storytimes and craft session. 
Ages 3-6 years.

Monday 8 July 
Chelsea Library, 10.30 - 11.15am 

Wednesday 10 July 
Aspendale Gardens Community Service, 10.30 - 11.15am 

Thursday 11 July 
Clarinda Library, 2.30 - 3.15pm 

Drop-in Crafts

Indigenous Sand Art

Beautiful sand art Australian animals on Australia shapes, designed by Indigenous Artist Kerri-Ann Taggart
Ages 6-10 years 

Cheltenham Library
Date: Tuesday 9 July 
Time: 2.20 - 3.30pm 

Dingley Village Library
Date: Thursday 11 July 
Time: 10.30am - 11.30am 

Free, bookings required. Book via Kingston Libraries.

Boomerang painting

Join Didgeridoo Australia for Boomerang Painting. 

A highly experienced First Nations educator will introduce the children to a range of Aboriginal symbols and how they can be used to tell a story. Then we will decorate our very own boomerang with acrylic paint in the traditional colours (red, yellow, black and white), using Aboriginal symbols and design elements. Please bring an art smock or similar. 

Ages 3-5 years

Westall Library 
Date: Wednesday 3 July 
Time: 1:30-2:30pm 

Free, bookings required. Book via Kingston Libraries.

NAIDOC – Drop-in colouring sessions

Pop into the library to colour in some beautiful indigenous art designs by Kerri-Ann Taggart and Belle Leonard.

Dates: Saturday 13 & Sunday 14 July
Time: During opening hours
Place: All open library branches.

All ages.

When

  • Sunday, 07 July 2024 | 08:00 AM - Saturday, 03 August 2024 | 11:59 PM