Skip to Main Content

New Kingston Council announced

2 November 2016

Results for the 2016 Kingston Council elections have been declared with two new faces joining seven re-elected councillors.

The Victorian Electoral Commission, which conducted the elections, undertook counting over the weekend and officially declared the results at 10am on Wednesday 2 November.

Seven returning councillors successfully re-elected were:

North ward – Tamara Barth and Steve Staikos

Central ward – Ron Brownlees OAM, Rosemary West OAM and Geoff Gledhill

South ward – Tamsin Bearsley and David Eden.

They will be joined by new councillors Georgina Oxley (South ward) and George Hua (North ward).

The new Kingston Council will serve the community for a four-year term.

Councillors will elect a Mayor for the next 12 months at an official meeting on Monday 7 November.

Kingston Council meetings, including the Mayoral election, are open to the public and can be watched online via live streaming at



News Listing