Skip to Main Content

Cheltenham East Primary School student elected as Kingston’s new Junior Mayor

28 May 2021

Cheltenham East Primary School student Amelia Holko has been elected by her peers as Kingston Council’s Junior Mayor for 2021-22.

Amelia presented her winning speech in front of fellow Grade 6 students and teachers from 28 of our local primary schools. The students then elected an 11-member Junior Council and a Junior Mayor. 

Kingston Mayor Steve Staikos said the Junior Mayor program is a wonderful annual event that has been run within the City of Kingston for over 5 decades in partnership with Chelsea Rotary.

“It gives local primary school students a chance to learn more about how local government works and develop their interest in the democratic process, as well as build leadership skills,” said Cr Staikos. “This year students were asked to present on the topic: If you could create anything to help others, what would it be and why?”

“Amelia and her team members Milana, Alex and Daniel did an outstanding job discussing the importance of community safety and invented the ‘necklace safe’ to increase people’s personal safety.”

Runner up in the Junior Mayor election was Arthur Toovey from Parktone Primary School, with St Marks Primary School student Joel Crothers winning the Encouragement Award.

"The students gave some wonderful speeches that discussed important issues such as sustainability and the environment, mental health, inclusion and diversity, community safety, and importantly taking care of each other,” said Cr Staikos. “These are all themes that we value here in Kingston.”

The Junior Mayor, who receives junior mayoral robes, chains and $500 for their school, is called on to assist the Mayor at a range of official Council events.

Amelia replaces outgoing Junior Mayor Jack O’Connor who was acknowledged for his unique contributions as he diligently undertook the role as Junior Mayor for two terms.

“Council is very proud to continue its long and unique tradition of electing a Junior Mayor,” Cr Staikos said. “The program aims to educate and engage young people about how they can get involved and make a difference in our community.”

 The 2021-22 Kingston Junior Council in partnership with Chelsea Rotary are:

  • Finn Parry from Carrum Primary School for Banksia Ward
  • Nemo Thot from Clayton South Primary School for Bunjil Ward
  • Allegra Kirk from Dingley Primary School for Caruana Ward
  • Arthur Toovey from Parktone Primary School for Chicquita Ward
  • Lucy Kitchen from Mentone Grammar School for Como Ward
  • Lola Cowden from Le Page Primary School for Karkarook Ward
  • Zerelda Rai from Chelsea Heights Primary School for Longbeach Ward
  • Charlotte Conway from Parkdale Primary School for Melaleuca Ward
  • Scarlett Quin from Edithvale Primary School for Sandpiper Ward
  • Amelia Holko from Cheltenham East Primary School for Wattle Ward
  • Grace O’Brien from Aspendale Primary School for Yammerbook Ward


News Listing